Frame.io vs TillyBoard compared
Review and collaboration platform for cuts, dailies and versioned feedback. Here is what Frame.io and TillyBoard do and cost according to their own documentation — with source and date — and who each one is worth it for.
What Frame.io is for
Review and collaboration platform for cuts, dailies and versioned feedback.
Frame.io, an Adobe product, is built for video, design and marketing teams; its Enterprise offer targets media and entertainment, agencies and brands.
Review platforms solve the feedback loop after the shoot. They are not a substitute for planning but its counterpart — and they get more valuable the more precisely it was agreed beforehand what is being signed off.
Frame.io vs TillyBoard: feature comparison
The table only records what each vendor documents on its own site — "Not stated" means we could not evidence it there, not that it is missing.
| Feature | Frame.io | TillyBoard |
|---|---|---|
| Shot list | Not stated | Yes — runtime per segment |
| Storyboard frames | Not stated | Yes — AI preview frame per shot |
| AI-generated images | Not stated | Yes — 10–400 images/month by plan |
| Moodboard / concept board | Not stated | Yes — concept canvas |
| Screenplay writing | Not stated | No — treatment document, no screenplay editor |
| Script breakdown | Not stated | No — shots come from brief and concept |
| Shooting schedule | Not stated — task and milestone tracking only | Yes — day plan with daylight and weather |
| Call sheets | Not stated | Yes — crew confirms via link, no account |
| Budgeting | Not stated | Partly — Enterprise plan only |
| Video review & approval | Yes — frame-accurate comments, approvals | Yes — frame-accurate notes, versions |
| Mobile app | Yes — iOS and iPadOS; no Android app | Yes — iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch |
| Free plan | Yes — 2 members, 2 GB, 2 projects | Yes — 1 project, 1 GB, no card |
As of October 2026. Source: frame.io · TillyBoard: tillyboard.com
Frame.io pricing compared
Frame.io bills per member per month, plus tax; annual billing is advertised as a 13% saving. Camera to Cloud is included in every plan.
TillyBoard bills per workspace, not per person: the Studio plan covers up to 25 members, and crew and clients confirm and comment via link without an account. All TillyBoard prices exclude VAT.
| Vendor · plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Frame.io Free | $0 | 2 members, 2 GB, 2 projects |
| Frame.io Pro | $15 per member/month | up to 5 members, 2 TB + 2 TB per member |
| Frame.io Team | $25 per member/month | up to 15 members, restricted projects |
| Frame.io Enterprise | custom | SSO, multiple workspaces |
| TillyBoard Free | €0 | 1 project, 1 GB, 10 AI images/month |
| TillyBoard Creator | €22/month (€19 billed annually) | unlimited projects, 100 GB |
| TillyBoard Studio | €39/month (€35 billed annually) | 25 workspace members, unlimited projects |
| TillyBoard Team | €109/month (€99 billed annually) | unlimited members, branded exports |
As of October 2026. Prices change — the vendor's pricing page is authoritative: frame.io/pricing
Is Frame.io free? Free plan and trial
Yes — Frame.io Free covers 2 members, 2 GB of storage and 2 projects with no credit card, Camera to Cloud and transcription included. Pro and Team can be trialled; the trial length is not stated on the pricing page.
TillyBoard has a free-forever plan with no credit card: one own project, 1 GB of storage, Tilly AI on the standard quota and 10 AI images a month. That is enough to plan one real job end to end, from brief to call sheet, before deciding on a paid plan.
Who Frame.io is the better pick for
Put honestly — here Frame.io is the stronger choice:
- Post-production teams reviewing large volumes of footage and versions
- Workflows that rely on Camera to Cloud uploads from set
- Editors who want comments inside Premiere Pro, Resolve, Media Composer or Final Cut
Who TillyBoard is the better pick for
And here TillyBoard is the stronger choice:
- Teams that need the plan before the shoot: concept, shot list, schedule, call sheet
- Reviews where missing coverage shows up against the shot list while it can still be shot
- Teams of up to 25 on one workspace price rather than per member
Where TillyBoard takes a different route
TillyBoard connects review back to the shot it came from, so a note lands on the plan and not just on a timecode.
A brief becomes a shoot-ready plan: shot list, storyboard, schedule and call sheet that stay connected. Change a shot and the schedule, call sheet and packing list follow.
Frame.io in practice: what to weigh
Not a star rating, but the points that follow from Frame.io's design, pricing model and documentation and that make the difference on real jobs:
- Per-member pricing scales with the team: ten members on Team come to $250 a month before tax.
- Camera to Cloud is included in every plan and supported by camera makers such as Canon, RED and Fujifilm.
- There is an iOS and iPadOS app; an Android app is not currently available, according to Frame.io's help centre.
Switching from Frame.io to TillyBoard
TillyBoard has no direct import from Frame.io. The switch runs through an export and a fresh plan — ideally between two jobs, not mid-production:
- Keep Frame.io for heavy post if it works there; move the planning and the client review of the plan first.
- Create a free TillyBoard account (no card) and a project for the next job.
- Build concept, shot list and schedule — Tilly AI drafts the shot list from the brief.
- After the shoot, upload the cut into the project's review and share a client link; reviewers need no account.
- Export Frame.io comments as CSV if you need the history of an older project for reference.
Frequently asked
Is TillyBoard a replacement for Frame.io?
That depends on what you use Frame.io for. TillyBoard connects review back to the shot it came from, so a note lands on the plan and not just on a timecode.
How much does Frame.io cost?
Frame.io Pro costs $15 and Team $25 per member a month, plus tax; Free covers two members. TillyBoard starts free; Studio costs €39 a month for up to 25 members, plus VAT, and includes video review.
Is there a free version of Frame.io?
Yes — Frame.io Free covers 2 members, 2 GB of storage and 2 projects with no credit card, Camera to Cloud and transcription included. Pro and Team can be trialled; the trial length is not stated on the pricing page.
Can I bring my data from Frame.io to TillyBoard?
Frame.io exports comments as CSV, XML, plain text or FIOJSON and lets you download the original assets. In TillyBoard you upload the cut to a review and share a client link; there is no comment import.
Should I replace Frame.io with TillyBoard?
Usually not across the board. Frame.io is the stronger choice for post-production at scale, Camera to Cloud and deep NLE integration. TillyBoard covers the plan before the shoot and a review tied to that plan; many teams run both.